An Apology

Forgive me for-
I am waiting for you to stress
I am waiting for you to panic
I am waiting for you to fail
I am waiting for you to be wronged
I am waiting for you to be betrayed
I am waiting for you to be lied to
I am waiting for you to be left
I am waiting for you to be misused
I am waiting for you to be abused
I am waiting for you to suffer
I am waiting for you to mess up
I am waiting for you to self doubt
I am waiting for you to self hate
I am waiting for you to feel rejected
I am waiting for you to feel insignificant
I am waiting for you to feel invisible

I am waiting for your plateau
I am waiting for your fall
I am waiting for your loss
I am waiting for your loneliness
I am waiting for your aloneness
I am waiting for your helplessness
I am waiting for your hopelessness
I am waiting for your blindness
I am waiting for your voicelessness
I am waiting for your depression
Lack of motivation
Growing aggression
Dysfunctional relations
Carcinogenic frustration
Spiritual disorientation
Soul migration
Dream degeneration
Strength devaluation
Self destruction

Yes,
I am waiting for you to be hurt
I am waiting for you to hurt
Not because you deserve it
But because my misery just
Loves your company

Meet the Poet:
Her name Kiwumulo Nakandi, a 24 year old Ugandan female. About this poem, she says, “I wrote [it] after I had reflected over why I gossip.” She says it is an apology to all females, herself included.

One thought on “An Apology

  1. Because I sometimes gossip and feel bad about it, I get speaker in this poem. I can identify with her. I feel, however, that their is too much “I’m waiting for you(r).” It gets so tiring after sometime, both reading it and on the eyes.

    Great poem, however.

    Like

Add to the conversation. Tell us what you're thinking.

